Congratulations to the finalists! Ten authors have been shortlisted for the first presentation of the Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize. Choosing among many gifted and captivating works in poetry, fiction and drama has been an incredibly challenging task for our judges and has resulted in the list brimming with enthralling poetry and prose.

      Two of the finalists have been selected posthumously. This way we want to show the support to the Dalit community, but also, to show that for us, as goes the saying, the poet never dies, neither does his poetry.

The finalists for the year 2018.:

Vinita AgrawalThe Silk of Hunger (poetry) 

Maj. Gen. G.D. BakshiDances with the Cranes (poetry)

Tishani Doshi Pleasure Seekers (novel)

Amitav GhoshThe Ibis Trilogy (Sea of Poppies, River of Smoke, Flood of Fire) (novels)

Kabir One Hundred Poems of Kabir (poetry)

Jhumpa LahiriUnaccustomed Earth (short stories)

Anita NairThe Lilac House (novel)

Daya Pawar Kondwada (poetry)

Kiriti SenguptaHealing Waters Floating Lamps (poetry)

Amish TripathiShiva Trilogy – (The Immortals of Meluha, The Secret of the Nagas, The Oath of the Vayuputras) (novels)

      The winner of the prize received US$10 000 and a statuette of the Rabindranath Tagore. Each shortlisted author received US $500 and a statuette of Rabindranath Tagore.

The winner of the prize was revealed at the first ceremony, on April 11th, 2018. and subsequently, on our social media cannels.

Thank you for following us!